HIB Information

Home  \  HIB Information

HIB Information

September 17, 2018

RE: New HIB Regulations
 
Dear Parents & Guardians,

New Jersey’s Anti-bullying Bill of Rights, enacted in 2011 to help combat harassment, intimidation and bullying (HIB) in schools throughout the State, has an important new regulation that went into effect July 1, 2018:

Principal’s Discretion:
Prior to initiating the investigation, the Principal or designee, in consultation with the Anti-Bullying Specialist, may make a preliminary determination as to whether the reported incident or complaint, assuming all facts presented are true, is a report within the scope of the definition of harassment, intimidation, and bullying under the Anti-Bullying Bill of Rights Act, N.J.S.A. 18A:37-14. The Superintendent or designee may sign-off on the preliminary determination

The Principal or designee, upon making a preliminary determination that the incident or complaint is not within the scope of the definition of harassment, intimidation, and bullying, shall inform the parents of the parties involved, who may appeal the preliminary determination to the Board of Education and thereafter to the Commissioner of Education in accordance with N.J.A.C. 6A:3.

A Board hearing shall be held within ten business days of receipt of the request for a Board hearing.  If the preliminary determination, upon review of the facts presented in the reported incident or  complaint, is to continue with the harassment, intimidation and bullying investigation, the investigation shall be completed in accordance with the law.

Please note that the Board Policy pertaining to the new HIB regulation is updated and available on our district website: Policy and Regulations https://www.straussesmay.com/seportal/Public/pubELANOnline.aspx?id=7da42070a501409683bdce41bdcbaaff

If you have any questions, please contact your school’s principal.
 
Sincerely,

Dr. Christopher Irving Superintendent of Schools

Anti-Bullying Specialists

Anti-Bullying Coordinator
Adrienne Williams
201 833-5468 
 
Bryant School
Jessica Brown
jbrown@teaneckschools.org
201-862-2495

Lowell School
Rey Cruz
rcruz@teaneckschools.org
201-833-6758

Hawthorne School
Colette Brantley
cbrantley@teaneckschools.org
201-833-6560

Whittier School
Donette Coston
dcoston@teaneckschools.org
201-833-6451

Benjamin Franklin Middle School
Eve Klein
eklein@teaneckschools.org
201-833-5456

Thomas Jefferson
Jennifer Denard
jdenard@teaneckschools.org
201-833-5478

Teaneck High School
Dr. Lottie Watson
lwatson@teaneckschools.org
201-862-2497
© 2018. Teaneck Public Schools. All Rights Reserved.
View text-based website